Whirligig Project

Vollis Simpson Whirligig Park Project

Funding Received: 2011
Wilson, NC
Funding Period: 1 year and 5 months
December 18, 2011

Simpson Receives North Carolina Award

The North Carolina Awards were instituted in 1961 by the NC General Assembly.  The awards have been given annually since 1964 to citizens who have distinguished themselves and obtained notable accomplishments in the fields of fine arts, literature, public service and science.  It is the highest honor the Governor and the State of North Carolina can bestow.  Past recipients of this distinguished award include Dean Smith, James Taylor, David Brinkley, Charles Kuralt, Maya Angelou, Billy Graham and Andy Griffith.


Wilson celebrates 7th Annual Whirligig Festival

For the seventh consecutive year, Wilson held its annual Whirligig Festival in honor of Vollis Simpson and his whimsical artworks.  Held the first weekend in November, the festival attracts more than 20,000 attendees annually.  The festival has been recognized as a “top 20 fall event” by the Southeast Tourism Society.  Each year, new attractions are added.  For 2011, the Vollis Simpson Whirligig Conservation Headquarters was open to festival attendees and allowed the community to witness first-hand the flurry of activity.